Artist in the Community Scheme

AIC Bursary

AIC Bursary
Making a Mark. Aisling Byrne, AIC Scheme Bursary recipient 2019: Collaborative Arts and Theatre. Photo: Luca Trufarelli

The purpose of the annual AIC Scheme Bursary Award is to support and nurture professional arts practice. It is specifically aimed at an artist who has a track record of working collaboratively with communities of place or interest. The Bursary Award of €10,000 provides the selected artist with time and resources to carry out research and to reflect on practice. More particularly, the Bursary allows the artist to consider key questions associated with their practice using collaborative methodologies.

It is expected that the recipient of each bursary share the learning arising from the Bursary with the wider community and collaborative arts sector. The Artist in the Community Scheme Bursary Award is an initiative of the Arts Council’s Artist in the Community Scheme, managed by Create.

Update 3rd July 2020:
2020 marks ten years since the Artist in the Community (AIC) Scheme Bursary award was inaugurated. We are pleased to announce that this year, we will award two AIC Scheme bursary awards.

The first will focus on the theme of Collaborative Arts and Cultural Diversity, and specifically aims to support an artist from a minority ethnic or migrant background. This bursary, offered in partnership with the Irish Refugee Council, closes for applications on the 17th August 2020.

The second bursary to be offered in 2020 will take as its focus Collaborative Arts and Human Rights, and is offered in partnership with the irish Council for Civil Liberties. This bursary closes for applications on the 9th November 2020. Full details can be found here.


Since its establishment in 2010, this bursary has been awarded to:

  • 2010 – Ríonach Ní Néill –  Collaborative Arts and Older People
  • 2011 – Ailbhe Murphy – Collaborative Arts and Community Development
  • 2012 – Sophie Motley – Collaborative Arts and Disability
  • 2013 – Anthony Haughey – Collaborative Arts and Cultural Diversity
  • 2014 – Cathy Coughlan – Collaborative Dance
  • 2015 – Tara Kennedy – Collaborative Arts and Architecture
  • 2016 – Eoin Heaney – Collaborative Film
  • 2017 – Vukasin Nedeljkovic – Collaborative Art and Activism
  • 2018 – Marielle MacLeman – Collaborative Arts in Health Contexts
  • 2019 – Aisling Byrne – Collaborative Arts and Theatre






related project
Artist in the Community Scheme