About us


Legal Status

C.A.F.E. Limited (trading as Create / Create Ireland, and formerly as Creative Activity For Everyone) is a company registered in Ireland, incorporated on 10 April 1987 as a company limited by guarantee, not having a share capital. The objects of the company are charitable in nature, the main object being to promote the arts as defined in the Arts Acts.

Charitable Status

In 1996, the company was granted charitable exemption by the Revenue Commissioners retrospective to the date of incorporation (CHY 9695). The company is exempted from Corporation Tax, Capital Gains Tax and Deposit Interest Retention Tax under Section 207, Taxes Consolidation Act, 1997 and from Corporation Tax for certain trading activities under the same section.

The company is authorised by the Revenue Commissioners to operate the Donation Scheme for tax exempted donations to Charitable Bodies (Section 848A, Tax Consolidation Act, 1997).

The company is registered as a charity with the Charities Regulatory Authority (Reg. No: 20024291). By virtue of the Charities Act, 2009, the directors of the company are deemed to also be charity trustees.


Membership is subject to approval of the Board of Directors. The liability of each member is limited to €1.27.

Financial Statements

Financial Statements are presented in a format that complies with the requirements of the Companies Act, 2014, and accounting standards generally accepted in Ireland as giving a true and fair view as promulgated by Chartered Accountants Ireland and issued by the Financial Reporting Council including FRS 102. The Directors are committed to the implementation of the Statement of Recommended Practice (SORP) as issued by the Charity Commission for England & Wales.


We have carried out a risk assessment of any potential for harm to a child while availing of our services, and have put measures in place to mitigate against such risks. Please read our Protection and Welfare Policy Statement, which contains a risk assessment and safeguarding statement.


The board and executive officers comply with the organisation’s Code of Conduct for Directors and Officers. The principles that underpin the general ethos of this code include:

  • Loyalty
  • Integrity
  • Disclosure of Interests
  • Confidentiality of Information
  • Legal Obligations
  • Board Operation
  • Fairness
  • Impartiality + Independence

The organisation is committed to compliance with the Code of Governance for Community and Voluntary Organisations and is on the journey to implementation.

The organisation has adopted the Principles of Good Fund Raising as drawn up by the Irish Charities Tax Reform Group.


The company has 7 full-time employees.

Board Members

Deirdre Figueiredo (Chair)

Deirdre Figueiredo MBE is Director of Craftspace, a limited company and arts charity based in Birmingham and has expertise in visual arts, contemporary craft and design. She also specialises in practice and strategy around public engagement, participation, creative production, inclusion and diversity. In a voluntary capacity she sits on the board of several arts organisations across England.

Sinead Dowling

Sinead Dowling has been Arts Officer with Carlow County Council since 2004, where she is responsible for local arts development. She has curated and project managed temporary site specific art projects in Carlow. Through management of the public art programme, Sinead has also been responsible for innovative commissioning of artists. She sees collaboration, risk taking and contemporary art rooted locally at the heart of all commissions.

Martin Drury

Martin Drury is an independent practitioner and adviser. In a career spanning nearly forty years and encompassing practice, project-management and policy-making, he has been Arts Education Officer (Sligo/Leitrim); Artistic Director of TEAM theatre-in-education company; Education Officer at the Arts Council; author of The Dublin Arts Report; Druid Theatre’s script editor; founding Director of The Ark, A Cultural Centre for Children; a theatre director, with 20+ productions to his credit including a period as Associate Director of the Abbey Theatre; and Arts Director, and later Director of Strategic Development, at the Arts Council. Martin is also a board member of Music Generation.

Paul Johnson

Paul Johnson is Chief Executive of Dance Ireland. Appointed in June 2006, Johnson, reporting to a board of directors is responsible for the management of the organisation, including DanceHouse, liaising with funders, programming, fundraising and ensuring that Dance Ireland adheres to its remit and mandate. With over 21 years’ experience as a dance artist, Johnson has worked on a range of projects, nationally and internationally. Johnson is a director of Dance Resource Base (NI), Janis Claxton Dance (Scotland) and RGH Consulting. Johnson holds a BA in Communication Studies and a MA in Communication and Cultural Studies from Dublin City University.

Clodagh Kenny

Clodagh Kenny is currently working as an independent Art Consultant supporting private companies with public art commissions and supporting the development of their artistic policies.  For over ten years she was director of Fire Station Artists’ Studios, a significant national visual arts organisation, supporting professional visual artists. Clodagh is also on the Programme Advisory Board of the Royal Hibernian Academy.

Louise O’Reilly

Louise O’Reilly has over a decade of experience as a producer, project director and development manager for high profile cultural projects in Ireland. Currently Louise is Network Development Manager for Science Gallery International, developing eight Science Galleries worldwide by 2020 with high-ranking universities, based on the model at Trinity College Dublin. Louise has played a pivotal role across a portfolio of ambitious cultural projects, specialising in start-up activity and development for Dublin Contemporary 2011, Electric Picnic, RTÉ, Dublin Fringe Festival, and Jameson Dublin International Film Festival. She is also on the Board of Corn Exchange Theatre.

Company Secretary:

Assistant Director, Arthur Duignan (non-voting).

Staff page

Constitution (Memorandum & Articles of Association)
Financial Statements 2016
Financial Statements 2017
Financial Statements 2018
Protection and Welfare Policy Statement